Most Famous T20 Cricket Leagues

T20 cricket in the past five years earned excellent feedback from fans worldwide. The 20 over’s game now becomes an official type of strong cricket leagues. IPL’s 1st edition of the domestic T20 cricket league held in 2008. IPL grabs the attention all over the world for over-crowded stadiums with fans.

The average audience per game is 35,000 people in 2016 reported by a cricket news website. Later in 2019, a report published the average attendance rate for IPL increase by 10%, which is 40,000 people watch a regular IPL match. Big Bash League and NatWest T20 Blast 2 more leagues started after seeing IPL success. But currently, IPL got the highest fan following and cricket audience on tv and in the stadiums.

PSL is the most developed cricket league in the previous 2 years. The audience moves on from 10,000 per match to 22,000 over the last two editions. The addition of more foreign players develop the fame of the league worldwide. Big Bash League remains one of the most-watched television sports leagues in Australia.

IndiaIndian Premier League (IPL)2008
AustraliaBig Bash League (BBL)2011
PakistanPakistan Super League (PSL)2016
West IndiesCaribbean Premier League (CPL)2013
EnglandT20 Blast2003
BangladeshBangladesh Premier League (BPL)2012
South AfricaMzsani Super League2018

#1 IPL (Indian Premier League)

IPL (Indian Premier League) started in 2008 and produced many records. The IPL is the most famous cricket league in the world and, in 2014, placed in the sixth position by the average audience between all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL converted into the first sports competition in the world to be aired live on YouTube. The brand value of the IPL (Indian Premier League) in 2019 was US 6.7 billion dollars.

IPL is the highest-paid league all over the world. International prefers to have a contract with the IPL team rather than any league due to high wage scale. Indian fans support their cricket league, and almost a regular IPL match have attendance ration from 25,000 to 35,000 people. IPL increases the revenue for the Indian Cricket Board (BCCI) from ticket sales.

IPL Tournament Winner Teams By Year

YearWinnerLoserPlayer of The Tournament
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsAndre Russell
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers HyderabadSunil Narine
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune SupergiantsBen Stokes
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad  Royal Challengers BangaloreVirat Kohli
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsAndre Russell
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI PunjabGlenn Maxwell
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsShane Watson
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super KingsSunil Narine
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChris Gayle
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai IndiansSachin Tendulkar
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers BangaloreAdam Gilchrist
2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super KingsShane Watson

#2 BBL (Big Bash League)

Big Bash League second most popular T20 league in the world and cricket structure-wise one of the top cricket league worldwide. Big Bash league introduced in the year of 2011 by Cricket Australia (CA).

The Big Bash League renewed the former competition, which is the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, and emphasizes eight city-based franchises rather than the six states teams which had played earlier. The tournament has been sponsored by a fast-food company KFC since its beginning. The winner of BBL 9th edition (2019/2020) was the Sydney Sixers, who defeated the Melbourne Stars by 19 runs in the final match. The Sydney Sixers obtained the title from the Melbourne Renegades, who defeated the Melbourne Stars in the BBL 8th edition (2018/2019) final.

Big Bash League (BBL) matches are performed in Australia while the southern hemisphere summer in December, January, and February. Australian cricket stadiums full of crowd during the Big Bash matches. A standard match in Big Bash brought 20,000 people, but in playoff’s number of people increased, almost 40,000 people watch the game.

#3 PSL (Pakistan Super League)

Pakistan Super League starts on 9 September 2015 with five teams Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi, and Quetta Gladiators and now comprises the sixth team which is Multan Sultans. The PSL plays between February and March, with each team playing matches two times with every team in this format; the first four teams with the top points qualify for the playoffs in the PSL Final. Pakistan cricket board (PCB) developed their domestic cricket tournament PSL. Currently, PSL prize money for 2020 raised. Many cricketers from England, Australia and West Indies, agreed to play in Pakistan. A standard match in PSL leads 20,000 crowd, and in the last years final, more than 40,000 people watched the game.

PSL Tournament Winner Teams By Year

YearWinnerLoserPlayer of The Tournament
2020Karachi KingsLahore QalandarsBabar Azam
2019Quetta GladiatorsPeshawar ZalmiShane Watson
2018Islamabad UnitedPeshawar ZalmiLuke Ronchi
2017Peshawar ZalmiQuetta GladiatorsKamran Akmal
2016Islamabad UnitedQuetta GladiatorsRavi Bopara

#4 CPL (Caribbean Premier League)

The CPL (Caribbean Premier League) is the 4th most famous seasonal T20 cricket tournament played, which played in the Caribbean. It was founded in 2013 and replaced the name of Caribbean T20 with the Caribbean Premier League T20 tournament. Hero MotoCorp currently sponsors it and officially named it as the Hero CPL. The first competition was won by the Jamaica Tallawahs, who beat the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final.

CPL Tournament Winner Teams By Year

YearWinnerLoserPlayer of The Tournament
2019Barbados TridentsGuyana Amazon WarriorsHayden Walsh Jr.
2018Trinbago Knight RidersGuyana Amazon WarriorsColin Munro
2017Trinbago Knight RidersSt Kitts & Nevis PatriotsChadwick Walton
2016Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon WarriorsAndre Russell
2015Trinidad and Tobago Red SteelBarbados TridentsDwayne Bravo
2014Barbados TridentsGuyana Amazon WarriorsLendl Simmons
2013Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon WarriorsKrishmar Santokie